You are here : : Season > New Play Festival 2010 > Gaffney Playwriting Award

Finalists of the fourth annual
Dr. Floyd Gaffney Playwriting Award
on the African American Experience

Winner - Playwright: Lou-Lou Igbokwe


Cleo, a black woman, and, Peter, a white man, wait for the Inaugural speech in our nation’s capitol. Two strangers, brought together by the historic occasion, test the notion of a “post-racial” United States.


Lou-Lou Igbokwe was born and raised in New Jersey, the fourth of five children of two Nigerian immigrants. She is currently a senior at Dartmouth College, where her concentration is African and African-American studies, English, and Theater. She is the chair of the Black Underground Theater Association (BUTA), and editor-in-chief of Black Praxis Literary Magazine. Lou-Lou was awarded a Senior Fellowship to write and produce a play about the constructions of black womanhood. "Obamanation" is the second play she's ever written, and the first she's submitted to a national contest.

Read the Marshall Institue Blog interview with Lou-Lou Igbokwe.

Staged Reading: Saturday, April 24th 2010 @ 10:30a.m.
This is a FREE event. To order complimentary seats, CLICK HERE.



Honorable Mention - Playwright: Lisa Flora Meyers

Tricky Wicked Bitch

Rose, a biracial girl raised by her gay adoptive father, is the daughter of a troubled dancer who killed herself. She is transported to a 1920s blues club where Rose feels the echoes of her late mother and her unique history


This festival is made possible by a generous donation from Ken & Ginger Baldwin

Of Interest:

TheatreForum - An international theatre journal since 1992
La Jolla Playhouse - UCSD is home to this Tony Award winning theatre
UC San Diego Home Page - UC San Diego's Main Web Site
9500 Gilman Drive MC0344
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: (858) 534-3791