You are here : : Dr. Floyd Gaffney Playwriting Competition

The University of California San Diego’s Theatre and Dance Department seeks from all enrolled undergraduate students submissions of previously unproduced, unpublished scripts highlighting African American experience in contemporary or historical terms. Adaptations from books and other forms not allowed.

Click HERE to download a PDF of the contest flyer


Scripts must be original, unpublished, unproduced and free of royalty and copyright restrictions.
Plays which have had staged readings are acceptable.

Scripts must be 50 pages or longer, typed. Manuscripts must be submitted electronically (see below). You must also include your contact information (name, email, and address); play title, number of characters, institution affiliation, and a one page story summary.

Submitting Your Script Electronically

To submit a script electronically, click HERE and fill out the application in full.
Be sure to attach your script and a one-page document that contains a the following:

  • The name of your college or university
  • Your year of expected graduation
  • A summary of the story
  • All documents submitted electronically must be in PDF format amd must be less than 2 MB in size.

    Scripts will be accepted beginning with a postmark of 10/14/14.
    Deadline for entry is a postmark entry of 2/13/15.
    The winner will be announced no later than 2/27/15.

    Please include a one-page summary synopsis.


    A $1000 honorarium will be awarded to the winning playwright.

    A stage reading, April 25, 2015, of the winning script in the
    Wagner New Play Festival. This festival is attended by students,
    local patrons, and twelve national theatre professionals.

    Travel and housing costs to and from UC San Diego to be present for the performance.



    Finalists and the eventual winners will be selected by a team comprised of the faculty and artists of
    UC San Diego Department of Theatre and Dance and invited judges from other professional theatres.

    The decision of the team of adjudicators is final.
    The UCSD Department of Theatre and Dance reserves the right to select no winner.


    Of Interest:

    TheatreForum - An international theatre journal since 1992
    La Jolla Playhouse - UCSD is home to this Tony Award winning theatre
    UC San Diego Home Page - UC San Diego's Main Web Site
    9500 Gilman Drive MC0344
    La Jolla, CA 92093
    Tel: (858) 534-3791