HOME > Affiliates > Gaffney Playwriting Competition

Graduate Programs

Undergraduate Programs


Theatres & Facilities


News & Events


The Dr. Floyd Gaffney Playwriting Competition 2018
Winner Announced

The UC San Diego Department of Theatre and Dance has announced the winner of the 2018 Dr. Floyd Gaffney National Playwriting Competition, Stand and Wait by Eliana Pipes. Eliana will be awarded a $1000 prize, and her play will receive a staged reading on Saturday, May 12 at 10 AM, at the Arthur Wagner Theater in Galbraith Hall on UC San Diego's campus.

    RSVP for the Gaffney staged reading here >>

The Gaffney Prize, now in its twelfth year, awards $1000 to the winning author along with travel and lodging to participate in the play’s staged reading as part of the Wagner MFA New Play Festival at UC San Diego.

Sparked by Paula Deen's perverse remarks of an Antebellum South themed wedding with “historically appropriate” staff, Stand and Wait follows a seasoned black actress Carla, and a naïve white actress Tracy, who make friends in an audition, only to be handed a script that caters to America's worst racial instincts. The event transcends to a plantation outside of space and time as Carla encounters ghosts of slaves and the legacy that’s been haunting her. The play is for 6 actors: 4 female, 2 male.

Eliana Pipes is a playwright, filmmaker and actor graduating from Columbia University with a B.A. in English and entering Boston University's MFA Playwriting Program. Recent work includes: Stiletto Envy (Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Festival, The Fire this Time Festival) Isadora del Sol ( KCACTF John Cauble Award).
Check out an interview with Eliana Pipes by Marshall Institute >>


Download a PDF sample of Stand and Wait >>

Angie B. Jones was awarded “Honorable Mention” for her play The Great American Negro Experiment. An inspired satire with theme park traces of Disney’s EPCOT Center, Angie B. Jones sets her play inside U.N.I.T.Y Theme Park’s Black American Pavilion. Her madcap string of vignettes are imaginative and re-imaginative of an entire history of African Americans, with extended cameos from Booker T. Washington and W.E.B. Dubois.

Angie B. Jones is a playwright from Atlanta with a B.F.A. in Dramatic Writing at Tisch School of the Arts. She was the recipient of the Lew Wasserman Scholarship and enters Yale’s MFA playwriting program Fall 2018. Angie has worked at New Dramatists, Younger, Full Frontal with Samantha Bee, Fox Searchlight, and Jax Media. Works have been premiered at Horizon Theater, New York University, and University of Michigan.
Check out an interview with Angie B. Jones by Marshall Institute >>


Download a PDF sample of The Great American Negro Experiment >>


Jurors for this year’s award are MFA playwright Dave Harris, incoming MFA playwright Vivian Barnes, and Allan Havis, professor of theatre at UC San Diego. The Theatre & Dance Department wishes to thank the work of the jurors, the Dean of Arts and Humanities, and also the Gaffney family for lending Dr. Floyd Gaffney’s name to this national event - recognizing Dr. Gaffney’s achievement in African American theatre.

    RSVP for the Gaffney staged reading here >>

    The History of the Dr. Floyd Gaffney Playwriting Competition >>

   Follow UCSDTheatre on Twitter    Give Now
UC San Diego 9500 Gilman Dr. MC0344, La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: (858) 534-3791   Fax: (858) 534-1080